| View Cart Print this page  

Meet the Band and Drummers

OWDD DrummersThe One World Dance & Drum Band consists of a broad base of incredible people who are focused and talented artists. We are honored and privileged to have such a great group of dedicated musicians supporting our offerings. Depending on the event, we will have anywhere from 3 to 15 musicians playing the intricate and invigorating music of Guinea, West Africa.
In addition to accompanying us at workshops, performances, school residencies, parties, weddings and special events, the One World Dance & Drum Band provides infectious music for all three of our weekly Monday and Thursday night dance classes.
Founded by Larry Swanson, the One World Dance & Drum band includes Frank Anderson, David Chaus, Greg Evans, Michael Goude, Michael Hunter, Nick Incorvaia, Frenchy Lamont, Tracy Lamont, Tyler Richart, Jim Roe, Lance Scott, Sam Weng and numerous other musicians from Seattle's large community of West African drummers.

Currently, we are honored to have guest artist master flute player Mamady Mansare from Les Ballets Africains playing for all of our classes.  What a treat!
In addition to this core group, extraordinary source artists and musicians have sat in with us from time to time. Guinean master percussionist Karamba Diabate, Guinean balafon virtuoso and griot Naby Camara, Guinean master dancer and percussionist Abdoulaye Sylla, Guinean percussionist and dancer Manimou Camara, Senegalese master dancer and drummer Ibrahima Camara, Senegalese djembe master Thione Diop, Ghanaian guitarist and percussionist Mohammed Shaibu have all joined us.  Multi-talented artist Karim Koumbassa has lead the group for years, arranging and playing djembe and dunduns.  Also, we have been joined by world music percussionist Joseph "Pepe" Danza and even Rubain Wiesberg and some of the professional musicians from the traveling Lion King Musical.

Distinguished alumni of the band include Lee Colbert, Kale Dennis, Thierno Diop, Christine Hopkins, Cadence Howard, Meredith Jones, Joe Katroscik, Alika Santos, Phillip Seward and John vanBrokhoven.